Texas Business Hall of Fame logo

2021 Annual Report


2021 Hall of Fame Legends

Mark Cuban
Owner, Chairman & CEO of Dallas Mavericks, AXS TV | Dallas, Texas

John Paul DeJoria
Co-Founder & Chairman of the Board, John Paul Mitchell Systems; Chairman Emeritus, The Patrón Spirits Company | Austin, Texas

John C. Goff
Co-Founder, Crescent Real Estate, Goff Capital, Inc. | Fort Worth, Texas

Morton H. Meyerson
Chair, Morton H. Meyerson Family Foundation, 2M Companies | Dallas, Texas

Gerald Smith
Chairman & CEO, Smith Graham & Co. | Houston, Texas

Randall Stephenson
Executive Chairman, AT&T Inc. | Dallas, Texas

The 38th Annual Induction

On October 28th, 2021, The Texas Business Hall of Fame hosted its 38th Annual Induction Ceremony at the Hilton Anatole in Dallas, Texas. The ceremony, presented by Texas Capital Bank, featured this year’s six inductees: Mark Cuban, John Paul DeJoria, John C. Goff, Morton H. Meyerson, Gerald Smith, and Randall Stephenson.

Kendra Scott, TBHF Legend Class of 2019, served as Master of Ceremonies for the evening. Rabbi David Stern of Temple Emanuel-E gave the invocation. Guests were treated to a beautiful live orchestral performance from the Dallas Vivaldi Players from the Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Center.

This year’s Induction Ceremony was a beautiful reminder that the entrepreneurial spirit is alive and stronger than ever in Texas. We heard the inspirational stories of our new inductees and the impact of their leadership. An important theme of the night was giving back to the community. Each of this year’s inductees were recognized not only for their success in business, but also their philanthropic and civic engagement. We hope guests left feeling inspired and energized. The proceeds raised from the dinner go towards TBHF’s Future Legends Scholar & Veteran Award Program, which provides funding and support to promising early-career entrepreneurs across the state.

You can watch the ceremony online here.

Mark Cuban

“Just ask yourself: Why not me?
Why can’t I be that person to change the world?”

Randall Stephenson

“Texas business is to be celebrated. It’s a good thing. I’m asked by young people when they are trying to evaluate what they want to do. I always say think business first. Business and commerce is one of the most noble endeavors available to young people today. At its very core, business is virtuous.”

Gerald Smith

“The level of success that I have achieved has not been a solo event. I can’t think of a better way to honor, and to thank all who have helped me, than to give back to others.”

Event Press

Texas Business Legends

Hall of Fame


Richard W. Fisher

George C. “Tim” Hixon 

Bill Miller Family

Kendra Scott

Robert F. Smith

Graham Weston


Albert Chao

Dorothy Chao Jenkins

James Chao

T.T. Chao

Ernest (Ernie) Cockrell

Jim Crane

Jim McIngvale 

David Weekley

Richard (Dick) Weekley

Patricia Will


Lucy Billingsley

David Bonderman

Forrest E. Hoglund

Stan Richards

Carl Sewell

Zale/Lipshy Families


Warren E. Buffett

Charles E. Cheever, Jr.

Dian Graves Stai

Gordon V. Hartman

Gary C. Kelly

Charles T. Munger

Dennert O. Ware


Greg Armstrong

Woody L. Hunt

Michael C. Linn

Harry Pefanis

Grady Rosier

Dan Wolterman


Donald L. Evans

Gerald J. Ford

Douglas D. Hawthorne, FACHE

Trevor Rees-Jones

Harold C. Simmons

Kelcy Warren


Charlie Amato

Tom Dobson

Gary Dudley

Paul Foster

Joseph M. “Jody“ Grant


Rex W. Tillerson


Donald Adam

Frank A. Bennack, Jr.

Douglas L. Foshee

John L. Nau, III

Todd Wagner


Barry G. Andrews

Colleen Barrett

Lee Roy Mitchell

Ross Perot, Jr.

Welcome Wilson, Sr.


Carlos Alvarez

Robert Duncan

W.A. “Monty“ Moncrief

W.A. “Tex“ Moncrief, Jr.

Harvey E. Najim


James T. Hackett

Philip Romano

Jerry L. Susser

Sam J. Susser

Sam L. Susser

Martha Fuller Turner


Dick Evans

Mike A. Myers

Glen E. Roney

Kern Wildenthal, MD, PhD


Tom Benson

Dr. James R. Leininger

Paul J. Sarvadi

Clayton W. Williams, Jr.


Joe B. Foster

Dennis E. Nixon

Lee R. Raymond

Corbin J. Robertson, Jr.

Jeff Sandefer


Walter E. Johnson

Jerry Jones

T. Boone Pickens

Vin Prothro

Tim Word


Tilman J. Fertitta

Matt F. Gorges

Peter Holt

Rosemary E. Kowalski

Lowell H. Lebermann, Jr.


Baylor College of Medicine

Allen J. Becker

Dan L. Duncan

Reese M. Rowling

Robert B. Rowling


Robert J. Allison, Jr.

Louis A. Beecherl, Jr.

William E. “Bill” Greehey

Lee William “Bill” McNutt, Jr.

Robert D. Rogers


Stanford J. Alexander

Rod Canion

Don D. Jordan

Charles L. “Chuck” Watson


Henry C. Beck, Jr.

Al Casey

A.R. “Tony” Sanchez, Jr.

Roger Staubach

H.B. Zachry, Sr.

H.B. Zachry, Jr.


President George H.W. Bush

Tom Friedkin

The Caroline Rose Hunt Family

L. Lowry Mays

Louis M. Pearce, Jr.

Eckhard Pfeiffer


Mary Crowley

Michael Dell

Harold Hook

S. Roger Horchow

Red MCCombs


J.S. Abercrombie

Lamar Hunt

Robert C. McNair, Sr.

Fayez Sarofim

Edward E. Whitacre, Jr.


Ebby Halliday Acers

Anne Windfohr Marion

Harry K. Smith

William T. Solomon

Lionel Sosa


Joe L. Albritton

Governor Dolph Briscoe

Joe M. Dealey

Robert W. Decherd

William Stamps Farish

W. Carloss Morris

Stewart Morris

James M. Moroney, Jr.


Comer J. Cottrell

Charles G. Cullum

Robert B. Cullum

John P. Harbin

George P. Mitchell

John V. Roach


Aron S. Gordon

The Kruse Family

Robert M. Luby

Robert R. Onstead

Ambassador Robert S. Strauss

Ben Taub


The Baird Family

Roy M. Huffington

Ray L. Hunt

Drayton McLane, Jr.

W. Ray Wallace


John F. Baugh

Gordon A. Cain

Governor William P. Clements, Jr.

Thomas C. Frost

Howard R. Hughes, Jr.

Ben J. Rogers


Jack S. Blanton

Norman Brinker

Edwin L. Cox

Cecil H. Green

Frank W. McBee, Jr.


Albert B. Alkek

Perry R. Bass

Hugh Roy Cullen

Ben F. Love

MCHenry Tichenor


John S. Justin, Jr.

Herbert D. Kelleher

George Kozmetsky

Frank W. Mayborn

Henry S. Miller, Jr.


Lloyd M. Bentsen, Sr.

Robert H. Dedman

Gerald D. Hines

General Robert F. McDermott

Robert A. Mosbacher, Sr.


Mary Kay Ash

Amon Carter, Sr.

Ray Ellison

H.L. Hunt

Ross Perot


Trammell Crow

Judge James Elkins, Sr.

Walter M. Mischer, Sr.

Eddy C. Scurlock

Gus S. Wortham


Monroe Anderson

William Clayton

J.M. Haggar, Sr.

Oveta Culp Hobby

Stanley Marcus

Clint W. Murchison, Jr.

Sid Richardson

John Shary

Joe C. Thompson

Sam Young, Sr.

Joe Zeppa


George R. Brown

Herman Brown

Jesse H. Jones

J. Erik Jonsson

Robert Kleberg, Jr.

L.F. McCollum

W.D. Noel

Charles Tandy

Arthur Temple